Fiji islands

Fiji is an archipelago of more than 330 islands, of which 110 are permanently inhabited, and more than 500 islets, amounting to a total land area of about 18,300 square kilometres (7,100 sq mi).

IMG_0924

I was amazed by the beauty of the landscape from the plane, hundreds of little islands all close yet far from each other. Could not stop looking outside the window. But what I really found unique of Fiji is not just the beauty of its landscapes but above all, the friendly personality of Fijian people. Fijian people are born live and will probably spend all their lives on the island. The island is all they’ve got alongside with the sea, beaches, tropical fresh fruit, a frugal lifestyle and sun all year around. Fijian people don’t need much, at the contrary they are happy of what they have, they live and exploit the island in a respectful yet smart way as the island itself is their main resource. On the island there is no space for superficial things and their lifestyle is rather simple. IMG_0930

During my time in Fiji and during my backpacking experience I realised how many things we are used to that we don’t need and how simple life can be. Fijian people are a perfect example of this.

Whilst I was there I moved around using local buses. Buses in Fiji don’t have designated stops, they stop whenever they see someone wanting to get on. Fortunately, buses also don’t have doors or windows as there is obviously no AC.

IMG_0925IMG_0926IMG_0927

The local market is Nadi was an interesting experience. Me and my friend were the only non Fijian people around as it was low season and we went very early in the morning to avoid the heat.

IMG_0929

Food in Fiji except fresh fruits and veggie is not of good quality and can be very expensive as it’s all imported.

Bula bula is what everyone says when they meet you in the street and see you are a foreigner. At the end of the holiday it was natural for me to say it to anyone.

I decided to also do a little tour around the minor islands on a hip on hip off catamaran and stop in one of them – Botaria.

IMG_0934

When I got there, the staff of the resort welcomed me with a flower necklace and explained all the activities to do on the island. They also treated me with a lovely lunch of fresh fish and local vegetables and fruits. With no doubts the best grilled fish I’ve ever had! I went kayaking and around the little island and saw some of the most unforgettable sceneries of my life.

IMG_0933IMG_0936IMG_0939

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

